Recycling Information

Recycling Guide
Use the Recycling Guide to find out where to recycle, compost or get rid of stuff.

Recycling Zone

The Recycling Zone (3365 Dodd Road, Eagan) is a collection facility open year-round to all Dakota County residents. Drop off household hazardous waste, electronics, scrap metal, cardboard and more. Tires, TVs and computer monitors have a small fee, but everything else is free to drop-off.

Residential Recycling & Disposal

 Households and multifamily properties like apartments and townhomes contract with private haulers for trash and recycling service. Haulers must provide weekly trash and recycling services to residents  with pickup between 6 a.m. – 7 p.m.

 All residents and commercial properties, including multifamily, in Dakota County must recycle. All haulers serving Dakota County must accept the items listed in the document below titled List of Items Haulers Must Accept for Recycling.


Follow these rules to ensure your recycling gets recycled:

  • Do not use plastic bags. Place recyclables loose in your recycling cart or in a paper bag.
  • Empty and dry bottles, jars and containers. They don't have to be perfect — just free of most residue.
  • Leave caps on containers.
  • Empty and flatten boxes.
  • Check the Recycling Guide if you are not sure about an item.